philipp's blog

The Other Basket: Degoogling & Moving to iCloud

I'm moving away from Google.

For me, that's a pretty big deal: I have been Google and its products ever since it appeared on my radar and lifted me off the burden to scout Yahoo, AltaVista and Fireball for answers. I'm not ashamed to admit that I was never really bothered by the privacy implications that surround Google. If a benevolent dictator overlord AI slurps up all my data and in turn makes my life easier, then I'm all in!

However, in the recent years, enshittification has spread throughout Google's offering. And I am not only talking about deprecating services left and right - like the awesome Google Reader. Google's products clearly haven't innovated in the past years. Like, at all. And competition has kept up and closed the gap to their offering.

At the same time, Google continued pushing ads into their offering, and at the same time they keep proving more and more not only do they not care about the individual users1, but they actively start degrading the user's experience, like the quality of the Google Search, in order to pursue their Ad Sales KPI.

So I'm putting my eggs now in another basket. One of the key strengths of Google's offering is how well everything plays together, so I would not be satisfied to move into a fractured landscape of different apps and concepts. Of all competitors, Apple offers a close counterpart to Google's offering, so I am now moving into iCloud.

I will occasionally post here about how things are going.

  1. I firmly believe this used to be different.

#degoogling